Resources related to an array of Scale and Measure Development and Existing Scale Information. Be sure to check the tabs for further content and resources.
Documents and visuals on how to develop and find scales and measures
GSLC dissertations that illustrate scale development
GSLC dissertations that review and/or use existing scales
GSLC dissertations that illustrate a variety of approaches to variable measurement
The articles and power point explanations in this section focus on Exploratory Factor Analysis, primarily Principal Component Analyses (PCA).
The articles and power point explanations in this section focus on Confirmatory Factor Analysis (CFA).
The articles and power point explanations in this section focus on multiple forms of factor analysis and scale validity and reliability
Includes materials related to finding and working with existing scales in research
Includes materials related to measures that are not factor validated
Includes books on a range of scale and measurement issues
Developing and Validating Rapid Assessment Instruments by
This pocket guide provides a comprehensive start-to-finish overview of the basics of scale development, giving practical guidance that practitioners at all levels will be able to put to use.
Scale development : theory and applications by 
Confirmatory Factor Analysis for Applied Research, Second Edition by
With its emphasis on practical and conceptual aspects, rather than mathematics or formulas, this accessible book has established itself as the go-to resource on confirmatory factor analysis (CFA). Detailed, worked-through examples drawn from psychology, management, and sociology studies illustrate the procedures, pitfalls, and extensions of CFA methodology. The text shows how to formulate, program, and interpret CFA models using popular latent variable software packages (LISREL, Mplus, EQS, SAS/CALIS); understand the similarities and differences between CFA and exploratory factor analysis (EFA); and report results from a CFA study. It is filled with useful advice and tables that outline the procedures. The companion website (www.guilford.com/brown3-materials) offers data and program syntax files for most of the research examples, as well as links to CFA-related resources. New to This Edition *Updated throughout to incorporate important developments in latent variable modeling. *Chapter on Bayesian CFA and multilevel measurement models. *Addresses new topics (with examples): exploratory structural equation modeling, bifactor analysis, measurement invariance evaluation with categorical indicators, and a new method for scaling latent variables. *Utilizes the latest versions of major latent variable software packages.
Summated Rating Scale Construction by
The goal for any social scientist conducting a survey is to develop a rating on some attitude, value or opinion — a summated rating scale. Aimed at helping researchers construct more effective scales, Spector shows how to determine the number of items necessary, the appropriate amount of response categories and the most productive wording of items. The author discusses how to sort good items from bad (including item-remainder coefficients and Cronbach's alpha) and how to validate a scale, including dimensional validity from factor analysis. User-friendly, the book concludes with a step-by-step account of how to develop a summated rating scale based on classical test theory.
Includes chapters on scale development that have been or could be assigned for session readings
Chapter 14- Survey and Scales in EDI Research by
in Bendl, R., Booysen, L. A. E., & Pringle, J. K. (Eds.). (2018). Handbook of research methods in diversity management, equality and inclusion at work.
Covers conversational survey format, survey questions, and exploratory and confirmatory scale development.
Chapter 6- Best practices in exploratory factor analysis by
Osborne, J., Costello, A. & Kellow, J. (2008). Best practices in exploratory factor analysis. In Osborne, J. (Ed.), Best practices in quantitative methods (pp. 86-99). SAGE Publications, Inc.
Chapter 13- Principal Components in Factor Analysis (pp. 582-652) by Chapter 14- Structral Equation Modeling (pp. 653-771) by 
Chapter 9: Measurement in broader research context, pp. 257-268 by 
Chapter 4: Principal components analysis and exploratory and confirmatory factor analysis by Includes journal articles on scale development that have been or could be assigned for session readings
Includes books on existing scales
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Constructs by
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Constructs assists researchers and practitioners by identifying and reviewing the best scales/measures for a variety of constructs. Each chapter discusses test validity, reliability, and utility. Authors have focused on the most often used and cited scales/measures, with a particular emphasis on those published in recent years. Each scale is identified and described, the sample on which it was developed is summarized, and reliability and validity data are presented, followed by presentation of the scale, in full or in part, where such permission has been obtained. Measures fall into five broad groups. The emotional disposition section reviews measures of general affective tendencies, and/or cognitive dispositions closely linked to emotion. These measures include hope and optimism, anger and hostility, life satisfaction, self-esteem, confidence, and affect dimensions. Emotion regulation scales go beyond general dispositions to measure factors that may contribute to understanding and managing emotions. These measures include alexithymia, empathy, resiliency, coping, sensation seeking, and ability and trait emotional intelligence. The interpersonal styles section introduces some traditional social-psychological themes in the context of personality assessment. These measures include adult attachment, concerns with public image and social evaluation, and forgiveness. The vices and virtues section reflects adherence to moral standards as an individual characteristic shaped by sociocultural influences and personality. These measures include values and moral personality, religiosity, dark personalities (Machiavellianism,narcissism, and subclinical psychopathy), and perfectionism. The sociocultural interaction and conflict section addresses relationships between different groups and associated attitudes. These measures include cross-cultural values, personality and beliefs, intergroup contact, stereotyping and prejudice, attitudes towards sexual orientation, and personality across cultures. Encompasses 25 different areas of psychology research Each scale has validity, reliability info, info on test bias, etc Multiple scales discussed for each construct Discussion of which scales are appropriate in which circumstances and to what populations Examples of scales included
Taking the measure of work : a guide to validated scales for organizational research and diagnosis by
This reference provides researchers and consultants with quick and easy access to one hundred and thirty-seven validated measures for organizational research and consulting. The measures describe, or assess employee perceptions about and affective responses to the experience of their work within an organization. Each measure has demonstrated reliability and validity and has been used in research studies published during 1990-1999. The measures cover: Job Satisfaction Organizational Commitment Job Characteristics Job Stress Job Roles Organizational Justice Work-family conflict Person-organization fit Work behaviors Work values Whether preparing questionnaires or interviews for an employee survey, organizational assessment, dissertation or research program, this book guides users to a summary level understanding of each topic area, the measurement issues in the area, and a selection of measures to choose from. This will eliminate an often time-consuming and occasionally haphazard search for validated measures within published studies. Organizational consultants, in particular, should find this book useful, since using validated measures can help them focus discussions with clients on the substance of their findings and away from the quality of their measurements.
Includes links to library databases
Chapter 1 Criteria for Selection and Evaluation of Scales and Measures by
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Constructs assists researchers and practitioners by identifying and reviewing the best scales/measures for a variety of constructs. Each chapter discusses test validity, reliability, and utility. Authors have focused on the most often used and cited scales/measures, with a particular emphasis on those published in recent years. Each scale is identified and described, the sample on which it was developed is summarized, and reliability and validity data are presented, followed by presentation of the scale, in full or in part, where such permission has been obtained. Measures fall into five broad groups. The emotional disposition section reviews measures of general affective tendencies, and/or cognitive dispositions closely linked to emotion. These measures include hope and optimism, anger and hostility, life satisfaction, self-esteem, confidence, and affect dimensions. Emotion regulation scales go beyond general dispositions to measure factors that may contribute to understanding and managing emotions. These measures include alexithymia, empathy, resiliency, coping, sensation seeking, and ability and trait emotional intelligence. The interpersonal styles section introduces some traditional social-psychological themes in the context of personality assessment. These measures include adult attachment, concerns with public image and social evaluation, and forgiveness. The vices and virtues section reflects adherence to moral standards as an individual characteristic shaped by sociocultural influences and personality. These measures include values and moral personality, religiosity, dark personalities (Machiavellianism,narcissism, and subclinical psychopathy), and perfectionism. The sociocultural interaction and conflict section addresses relationships between different groups and associated attitudes. These measures include cross-cultural values, personality and beliefs, intergroup contact, stereotyping and prejudice, attitudes towards sexual orientation, and personality across cultures. Encompasses 25 different areas of psychology research Each scale has validity, reliability info, info on test bias, etc Multiple scales discussed for each construct Discussion of which scales are appropriate in which circumstances and to what populations Examples of scales included
Links focused on scales and measures
YouTube video on how to search for existing measurement scales in PsycINFO
James Gaskins, PhD presents an excellent short video showing how to search for validated scales to use as construct (topic) measures for your research. IMPORTANT NOTE: The "in.colorado.edu" search site that Gaskins refers to has changed to https://inn.theorizeit.org/
Videos on Scales and measures
This is the first video in Gaskins’ whole series on factor analysis. This first video leads into the next videos. If it does not automatically take you there go to his StatWiki link under Links.
