Resources related to Survey Research, including Survey Monkey and Survey Research Group. Be sure to check tabs for further content and resources
Information about Antioch Student Survey Monkey account
Antioch Student SurveyMonkey account- This is a free professional account, available to students by emailing your request to Jen (jswartout@antioch.edu). If you have an existing SurveyMonkey account it will be transferred.
GSLC dissertations that illustrate an array of statistical analysis. All surveys listed have a full IRB-approved survey appended.
Includes books on history of, how to do, and process of survey research
Surveys in Social Research by
David de Vaus' classic text Surveys in Social Research provides clear advice on how to plan, conduct and analyse social surveys. It emphasises the links between theory and research, the logic and interpretation of statistics and the practices of social research. This sixth edition has been completely revised and updated, and contains new examples, data and extensive lists of web resources. As well as explaining how to conduct good surveys, de Vaus shows how to become a critical consumer of research. He argues that the logic of surveys and statistics is simply an extension of the logic we use in everyday life; analysis, however, requires creativity and imagination rather than the application of sterile mechanical procedures. The prime goal of research should be to gain accurate understanding and, as a researcher, use methods and techniques which enhance understanding. De Vaus advocates researchers use the method, rather than letting the method use you. Surveys in Social Research is essential reading for students and researchers working with surveys. It assumes no background in statistical analysis, and gives you the tools you need to come to grips with this often challenging field of work.
Adventures in Social Research by
One of many versions of Babbie’s classic comprehensive and often updated review of social research methods.
Doing survey research : a guide to quantitative methods by
Each day we are faced with continuing claims made by media pundits, politicians, teachers, and friends, often quoting research. Consider also the numerous comments and posts on Internet blogs, Twitter, and Facebook that illustrate the confusion between opinion and factual data. How do we learn to interpret the research we hear about and read, to distinguish opinions from scientific facts, and to use this knowledge to conduct our own studies to answer the questions faced in everyday situations? Understanding the components that go into scientific research and learning how to do research, make decisions about which statistics to use, and analyze statistical findings are goals for everyone in today's research-oriented world. Questions about the reliability and validity of data from a study or public opinion poll come up routinely and need critical review. This book contributes to achieving these objectives. Doing Survey Research is intended for people who want to learn how to conduct quantitative studies for a project in an undergraduate course, a graduate-level thesis, or a survey that an employer may want completed. This brief, practical textbook prepares beginners to conduct their own survey research and write up the results, as well as read and interpret other people's research. It combines survey design with data analysis and interpretation. And it is for those who need to understand and critically interpret survey research found in scholarly journals, reports distributed in the workplace, and social scientific findings presented online in the media, on a blog, or in social media postings. Essential new updates to this edition include coverage of Big Data, Meta-Analysis, and A/B testing methodology--methods used by scholars as well as businesses like Netflix and Amazon. New to this Fourth Edition Each chapter and its exercises feature updated data and illustrations from current academic and popular articles relevant to today's web-oriented students, including studies focused on topics related to social media. Update web site http://doingsurveyresearch.wordpress.com/ New Coverage of Big Data (used by popular web sites like Amazon and Netflix) and the ethical issues which emerge not only about privacy, but also how it relates to the methods discussed in this book about sampling, probability, and research design. New coverage of meta-data, and the increasingly popular method in many professional and other settings.
Survey Research Methods by
The Fifth Edition of Floyd J. Fowler Jr.'s bestselling Survey Research Methods presents the very latest methodological knowledge on surveys. Offering a sound basis for evaluating how each aspect of a survey can affect its precision, accuracy, and credibility, the book guides readers through each step of the survey research process. This fully updated edition addresses the growth of the Internet for data collection and the subsequent rapid expansion of online survey usage, the precipitous drop in response rates for telephone surveys, the continued improvement in techniques for pre-survey evaluation of questions, and the growing role of individual cell phones in addition to--and often instead of--household landlines. Throughout the book, the author puts the profound changes taking place in the survey research world today into perspective, helping researchers learn how to best use new and traditional options for collecting data.
Asking questions : the definitive guide to questionnaire design-- for market research, political polls, and social and health questionnaires by
Since it was first published more than twenty-five years ago, Asking Questions has become a classic guide for designing questionnaires¾the most widely used method for collecting information about people's attitudes and behavior. An essential tool for market researchers advertisers, pollsters, and social scientists, this thoroughly updated and definitive work combines time-proven techniques with the most current research, findings, and methods. The book presents a cognitive approach to questionnaire design and includes timely information on the Internet and electronic resources. Comprehensive and concise, Asking Questions can be used to design questionnaires for any subject area, whether administered by telephone, online, mail, in groups, or face-to-face. The book describes the design process from start to finish and is filled with illustrative examples from actual surveys.
Internet, phone, mail, and mixed-mode surveys : the tailored design method by
The classic survey design reference, updated for the digital age For over two decades, Dillman's classic text on survey design has aided both students and professionals in effectively planning and conducting mail, telephone, and, more recently, Internet surveys. The new edition is thoroughly updated and revised, and covers all aspects of survey research. It features expanded coverage of mobile phones, tablets, and the use of do-it-yourself surveys, and Dillman's unique Tailored Design Method is also thoroughly explained. This invaluable resource is crucial for any researcher seeking to increase response rates and obtain high-quality feedback from survey questions. Consistent with current emphasis on the visual and aural, the new edition is complemented by copious examples within the text and accompanying website. This heavily revised Fourth Edition includes: Strategies and tactics for determining the needs of a given survey, how to design it, and how to effectively administer it How and when to use mail, telephone, and Internet surveys to maximum advantage Proven techniques to increase response rates Guidance on how to obtain high-quality feedback from mail, electronic, and other self-administered surveys Direction on how to construct effective questionnaires, including considerations of layout The effects of sponsorship on the response rates of surveys Use of capabilities provided by newly mass-used media: interactivity, presentation of aural and visual stimuli. The Fourth Edition reintroduces the telephone--including coordinating land and mobile. Grounded in the best research, the book offers practical how-to guidelines and detailed examples for practitioners and students alike.
How to conduct surveys : a step-by-step guide by
The Fifth Edition of the best-selling How to Conduct Surveys guides readers through the process of developing their own rigorous surveys and evaluating the credibility of surveys created by others. Offering practical, step-by-step advice and written in the same clear and accessible style as her other works, author Arlene Fink centres her guidance on choosing the appropriate type of survey, writing survey questions and responses, formatting the survey, deciding on the characteristics and numbers of respondents to include, determining the frequency of surveying respondents, and analyzing and reporting the results. The Fifth Edition pays particular attention to the internet and online surveys, considering best practices and techniques for developing a thorough and effective survey.
Survey Research in the United States by
Hardly an American today escapes being polled or surveyed or sampled. In this illuminating history, Jean Converse shows how survey research came to be perhaps the single most important development in twentieth-century social science. Everyone interested in survey methods and public opinion, including social scientists in many fi elds, will find this volume a major resource. Converse traces the beginnings of survey research in the practical worlds of politics and business, where elite groups sought information so as to infl uence mass democratic publics and markets. During the Depression and World War II, the federal government played a major role in developing surveys on a national scale. In the 1940s certain key individuals with academic connections and experience in polling, business, or government research brought surveys into academic life. By the 1960s, what was initially viewed with suspicion had achieved a measure of scientific acceptance of survey research. The author draws upon a wealth of material in archives, interviews, and published work to trace the origins of the early organizations (the Bureau of Applied Social Research, the National Opinion Research Center, and the Survey Research Center of Michigan), and to capture the perspectives of front-line fi gures such as Paul Lazarsfeld, George Gallup, Elmo Roper, and Rensis Likert. She writes with sensitivity and style, revealing how academic survey research, along with its commercial and political cousins, came of age in the United States.
Taking society's measure : a personal history of survey research by
How are we, as members of a society, informed of conditions that affect our social welfare? How does the government register the impact of its actions on its citizens? The turbulent 1930s saw the emergence of sample survey research as an increasingly valuable technique of social inquiry. Perhaps no one championed this nascent discipline as vigorously as Herbert Hyman, one of those pioneering investigators whose talents were so closely associated with the rapid growth of survey research that their professional careers and reputations became virtually indistinguishable from the field itself. Hyman's personal account is a remarkable contribution to the history and sociology of social research. His experiences with the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the Office of War Information, the U.S. Bombing Surveys of Germany and Japan, the National Opinion Research Center, and the Bureau of Applied Social Research are all documented with fascinating insight into the critical events and prominent individuals that shaped the field of survey research between the late 1930s and the late 1950s.
Summated Rating Scale Construction by
A foundational “little green book” in the Sage Social Research series covering, item wording, number of items needed, response categories, inter-item correlations, scale validity, and step-by-step to developing summated rating scales.
Back to Likert: Towards the conversational survey. by Includes chapters on survey research that have been or could be assigned for session readings
Chapter 14- Survey and Scales in EDI Research by
in Bendl, R., Booysen, L. A. E., & Pringle, J. K. (Eds.). (2018). Handbook of research methods in diversity management, equality and inclusion at work.
Covers conversational survey format, survey questions, and exploratory and confirmatory scale development.
Chapter 12 - Back to Likert: Towards a conversational survey by Includes journal articles on survey research that have been or could be assigned for session readings
Youtube video on a wide range of issues related to survey research presented by Patricia Harris-Jenkinson, Professor of Communications at Sacramento City College, California State University, Sacramento.
