Skip to Main Content

GSLC Dissertation Support Guide

Dissertation Archives

As a requirement for graduation, GSLC students publish their dissertations in these archives:

  • AURA: Antioch University Repository & Archive
  • OhioLINK ETD
  • Center Proquest Dissertation & Theses Global


 

Link to the GSLC Section of AURA     Link to AURA Front Page

  • Antioch University's own institutional repository and archive
  • Open Access .. No Passwords required to view or download
  • Includes a customizable author page, with photos, resume, information, etc. Example
  • Each author has access to a mapped dashboard indicating downloads.
  • AURA holds all AU dissertations from 2012 to present.
  • Backlist Open Access Dissertations [from Ohiolink]  since 2006 being added
  • Crawled internationally by all major search engines
  • Each  ETD in AURA has its own unique URL [link]* to the Metadata Page and the PDF
  • Enhanced Metadata pages with unique URLs.   In AURA we can embed video, add images, biographical information, CVs, etc.
  • This archive is also embedded in the DIGITAL COMMONS NETWORK, where the dissertation is also discovered.
  • ALL AU Dissertations are required to be deposited in this archive
     

Placing inbound links to the dissertation on the web [e.g.LinkedIn, personal & professional websites, Wikipedia ] will enhance the dissertation's discoverability by raising the link higher in the search results.

 

Links to AURA : Antioch University Repository and Archive

‚Äč

Link GSLC Section of Ohiolink ETD     Link OhioLink ETD Front Page

  • Award winning ETD archive
  • Created by the Ohio Board of Regents and Ohio Academic Libraries
  • Ohiolink ETD centers holds AU Dissertations since 2006
  • Open Access .. No Passwords required to view or download
  • Crawled internationally by all major search engines
  • Each  ETD in Ohiolink ETD Center has its own unique URL [link]* to the Metadata Page and the PDF
  • Every metadata page has the download count for that dissertation
  • All AU dissertations are required to be deposited in this archive
     

Placing inbound links to the dissertation on the web [e.g.LinkedIn, personal & professional websites, Wikipedia ] will enhance the dissertation's discoverability by raising the link higher in the search results.

 

 


Proquest Dissertations &Theses Global Database - AUe ID required

  • Established, trusted depository of Dissertations since 1938
  • Designated by the Library of Congress as the official depository of U.S. Dissertations.  [Under an agreement to return all dissertations to the Library of Congress, should the company cease.]
  • Experts in long term document archiving and accomodating future formats.
  • Print-on-Demand Publisher.  [Author retains copyright.  Proquest pays royalty* if a dissertation is ordered.]
  • Lists all deposited dissertations in Dissertations and Theses Database [formerly,  Dissertation Abstracts],  a subscription database [3 million searchable records/1.5 million full text works, 1743 - present]. 
  • Proquest/UMI sends select metadata [title/abstract, etc.] to other key academic indexes, e.g. PsycINFO
  • AU requires all dissertations be deposited in Dissertations and Theses Database

*Author must keep address on file with Proquest to receive royalty.

Enhance your AURA Page

Enhance Your AURA Page

 

Your dissertations home page in AURA is your dissertation's professional introduction.  

 

View AURA Dissertations Home Page

 

AURA home pages can be updated and enhanced.  

Although we cannot enhance your dissertation's page in Ohiolink,  in AURA we can enhance the dissertation's metadata [Author/Title/Abstract/Keywords] to convey professional information about yourself and to invite the potential reader to download and read the dissertation.

Enhancement options include :

  • Author Video Introduction, embedded and playing within the page  [ See separate section here in the AU ETD CENTRAL website.
  • A photo taken at your defense with your chair and/or committee.   
  • A professional photo - either a formal photo, or perhaps a more candid photo of you in your place of practice.
  • A blurb .. short or longer .. describing yourself.  
  • Reference to any chapter, book, or article you may have written, perhaps, accompanied by a book/journal cover
  • Links to your professional page at your worksite, your Linked-In page
  • Contact information 

What would you like ?    Email the photos/blurb/ etc. to the ETD Coordinator and request an enhancement.

Examples: