remember to use the subject/thesaurus option to explore your concepts, much like we did today for 'college' and 'marginalized.' Each database will use a slightly different set of words for their concepts.
You'll also want to use a broad selection of databases; take a look at this Getting Started page I created for this LA:
https://libguides-phd.antioch.edu/globalstarter
the 'suggested databases' tab on the left should give a better sense of some of the more globally oriented databases, although you will want to also stick with your subject specific databases as well- Education, Sociology, Psychology, Women's Studies, etc.
Search Plan *
expanding High-Impact Practices .. where before we had limited to this phrase only and did not find much .. to Outcomes/Student Engagement
WORKING Venn Diagram / Synonym Chart
Strategy 1: Subject Bibliographic Indexes
PsycINFO, ERIC, Education Research Complete, Education Full Text [Wilson]
Strategy 2. Mining Backwards
Books / Dissertations/Chapters
Strategy 3: Forward Citation Searching . Google Scholar
WEB OF SCIENCE . index especially .. see index page for forward search instructions and link to database
Strategy 4: Deep Journal Search [ Where applicable]
Miscellaneous notes
high impact practices -- e.g. service learning, study abroad, mentorships - only interested if calling them HIPS . linked to positive education outcome .. higher screen
HIPS .. can help to close achievement gaps.
Peer Review :
Kuh, 2008 .
Since its release in 2008, "High-Impact Educational Practices: What They Are, Who Has Access to Them, and Why They Matter" has been the go-to report for campuses seeking guidance to help their students "reap the full benefits--economic, civic, and personal--of their studies in college" (Kuh, 2008, p. 1)
Higher Education Review
Quick Notes on your paper:
1. Here is my topic .. some illustrate real simple .. exclusions / inclusions
2. I identifed 30 research studies.. what ever number .. Here's how .. SHIORT . don't mention deb.. I took this topic to these databases . Psycinfo/ERIC/Education Research.Education Full text , complemented .. with forward cititation search in web of science.. .. you can mention other strategies.. SHORT . NO CODES
3. Possible somewhere before or after talk aobut the different. what you see whole picture ..
methodological landscape ... culture of inquiry ..
------------
ones we really like for Web of Science
Kilgo, C. A., Ezell Sheets, J. K., & Pascarella, E. T. (2015). The Link between High-Impact Practices and Student Learning: Some Longitudinal Evidence. Higher Education: The International Journal Of Higher Education And Educational Planning, 69(4), 509-525.
Seifert, T. A., Gillig, B., Hanson, J. M., Pascarella, E. T., & Blaich, C. F. (2014). The Conditional Nature of High Impact/Good Practices on Student Learning Outcomes. Journal Of Higher Education, 85(4), 531-564.
McMahan, S. (2008). Creating a Model for High Impact Practices at a Large, Regional, Comprehensive University: A Case Study. Contemporary Issues In Education Research, 8(2), 111-116.\
Sarah's and Deb's observation : We could go back and look at individual practices and outcomes, but as one of the articles said .. there is not so much looking at the whole set .. and that is our preference for the searches. Maybe some of the dissertations would be OK to use with special permission from Tony, given the emerging nature of the topic.
Sarah-
remember to do the same level of search through more subject specific databases- education, women's studies, etc.
Sarah-
we investigated the intersection of the following terms:
leadership
management
administration
gender
female or women or woman
disparity
inequality
barriers
glass ceiling
higher education
college or university
attached also is the list we found, as well as the search history.
Link to Case Study Libguides
1 connection to your field .. Higher Education .. Community Engagement .. have other schools created a division and written about it.
have reported on how implemented the change.
2. organizational change /// higher education .. broad ..
-------------------------------
ERIC .. Education index .. or Education Research Complete
PsycINFO
? Dissertations and Theses Database ..
Journals to check out
Journal of Community Engagement and Higher Education
Journal for Civic Commitment
What is Searches with Deb?"
On this page, whenever I work with you, we will leave links, documents and a record of everything we found, including but not limited to :
DATE & Optional search recording
Refworks Shared Folder of Citations found today
LEARNING ACHIEVEMENT OR REASON FOR SEARCH.
... we would discuss and document scope : e.g. I need a couple recent articles ; this is an exploratory search for my CRR ; my change project was sent back and we want more of this ...... etc etc
...we would discuss parameters .. population, venue, synonyns etc..
..we would choose and indexes and other discovery tools .. [ In this MINIEXAMPLE .. one only, Psycinfo ]
Results below ..
Topic : Differences - if any - across cultures in leadership ethics .. Very general
example of search sets included and return links to full text
VILLARREAL SHARED REFWORKS CRR FOLDER
http://libguides.phd.antioch.edu/multi-strategysearchmodel
Strategy 1 : PsycINFO , ERIC, Education Research Complete, Education Full Text
Strategy 2 : MINING
Book we like
Women and leadership in higher education. Longman, Karen A
ASHE report : Women's Status in Higher Education
http://libguides.phd.antioch.edu/educationindexes
This was the NOL topic below .. Now thinking PERHAPS .. Women College Presidents
gender
female or women or woman
higher education
college or university
PRESIDENTS
------------------------------------
presidenct eadership
management
administration
gender
female or women or woman
disparity
inequality
barriers
glass ceiling
higher education
college or university
Journals we like
http://digitalcommons.unl.edu/jwel/
------------------------------
Antioch Dissertations to use for discovery .. FYI .. [ we can find more recent dissertations too]
Jen Carlo http://aura.antioch.edu/etds/155
Mark Allen http://aura.antioch.edu/etds/3/
Robbie Hertneky http://rave.ohiolink.edu/etdc/view?acc_num=antioch1229633499
