Introduction to Power Searching Session Keene 2014

Connect to all Bibliographic Indexes* Page [Note: Page also links to full text archival collections]

*Bibliographic Indexes sometimes called "Research Databases"

Subject Indexes 

• By Discipline : e.g. CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Heath Literature
• By Theme :  e.g. Women's Studies International
• Interdisciplinary:  e.g. Academic Search Complete

Citation Indexes

Constructed to search forward and backward by citation, answering the question "Who cited my favorite article?" , the "Who cited the study citing my favorite article?"  ETC.

Example:  Web of Science

*Note: many subject indexes have limited forward citation searching, as does Google Scholar

Specialty Indexes by Document Type*

*many Bibliographic Indexes now use open URL to pull records from other archives into the Index [ or link out to the record] , so it may be transparent to the scholar whether the full text is part of the Bibliographic Index proper, or pulled into the search results.   [It doesn't matter as long as you have the PDF.]

• Newspaper Indexes, e.g. Newspaper Source
• Dissertation Indexes, e.g. Dissertation and Theses Database
• Conference Proceeding Indexes, e.g. Proceedings First
• Archival Material , e.g. American Periodicals thru 19th Century

Hybrid Index / Archive 

• Interdisciplinary:  e.g. Academic Search Complete
• **NOTE :  With Open URL connection, now a PDF of an article, e.g. may be pulled into the search result screen from another source.   It is transparent as to whether the article is "part of the Index" or comes from another source.   Luckily, it does not matter.